AN INTERESTING GEOLOGICAL SPECIMEN.

Posted on August 23, 2014

0


UNIDENTIFIABLE OBJECT

PLATE I. A zoomorphic shape on the flat end of the stone.

   PLATE II. The flat end of the object showing the zoomorphic shape.

                                                                                                  

PLATE 3. The nodule is a conglomerate stone containing tiny fossil; grains of dirt frequently fall out of opening at the top.

The photographs above show a stone that I found 30 years ago, in the fields in the south of England. I thought it was a fossil at the time. When clearing out the attic, I came across the stone again in 2013. I had used it for many years as a paper weight. I had never cleaned the small amount of clay from this stone as I did not wish to damage it. So I cleaned it finally in 2013, exposing the zoomorphic shape.

The object is nodular, looks like dundry stone, and has a zoomorphic impression on the flat end. There are no work marks in the groove which produced this zoomorphic shape. The object seems hollow. There are also two small and possibly three minute triangles on the flat outer side. The object is 5.5cm X 6cm in size at its widest points on the flat/base surface. Its height is 6.5cm.

© 2017 Catryn Power All Rights Reserved

Posted in: MISCELLANEOUS