MY GRANDFATHER, JERRY O’REGAN AND THE GREAT WAR: FROM GLANTANE TO YOUGHAL AND THE SOMME

Posted on August 6, 2014

0


JEREMIAH O'REGAN

 

MY GRANDFATHER JEREMIAH O’REGAN NEVER TALKED ABOUT THE GREAT WAR AND HIS PART IN IT. OVER THE YEARS HE GAVE AWAY HIS MEDALS. MANY RECORDS INCLUDING HIS, WERE ‘BURNT’. IN 2008 I KNEW LITTLE ABOUT HIS YEARS IN THE ARMY, THE MUNSTER FUSILIERS, HIS INJURIES, ETC. HOWEVER HIS DAUGHTER KATHLEEN FAHY HAD HIS DISCHARGE PAPERS.

SO I ENQUIRED WHERE I COULD GET MORE INFORMATION AND THIS LEAD TO CHRIS BAKER AND HIS COMPANY ‘FOURTEENEIGHTEEN’. CHRIS PRODUCED A RECONSTRUCTION OF HIS MILITARY SERVICE, USING THE INFORMATION I GAVE HIM, AS WELL AS SEARCHING THE ARCHIVES. THIS HISTORY IS PROBABLY TYPICAL OF MANY  A ‘MUNSTER’ OR OTHER SOLDIER IN THE GREAT WAR.

ALL OF THE TRAINING GROUNDS WHERE HE WENT PREPARING FOR WAR, COINCIDENTALLY AS AN ARCHAEOLOGIST, I HAD VISITED OR HAD BEEN INVOLVED IN WORK THERE: BERE ISLAND, CAMDEN, CROWNHILL, MONTROSE ETC. WITHOUT KNOWING IT, I HAD FOLLOWED IN MY GRANDFATHER’S FOOTSTEPS.

AN INTERVIEW WHICH I HAD WITH NOEL CRONIN OF COMMUNITY RADIO YOUGHAL 104FM, IN 2008, RESULTED IN THE DOWNLOADING OF THE MILITARY HISTORY OF JEREMIAH O’REGAN (PRODUCED BY CHRIS BAKER, http://www.fourteeneighteen.co.uk) ONTO THE RADIO’S WEBSITE: YOUGHALONLINE.COM 104FM.

http://www.youghalonline.com/2011/04/29/the-military-service-history-of-jeremiah-oregan/

 

 

 

© 2012-2014 Catryn Power All Rights Reserved

Posted in: PEOPLE, WORLD WAR I